The Human Rights Awards ceremony took place at the Powerhouse Museum, Sydney on Sunday 24 November 1991, presided by the Commission's President, Sir Ronald Wilson and compered by magistrate, Ms Pat O'Shane. Mr Chris Puplick, former Liberal Senator for New South Wales, and broadcaster Ms Geraldine Doogue presented the awards.

human rights medal

Winner: Hon. Justice Michael Kirby AC, CMG

The prestigious Australian Human Rights Medal was awarded to the Hon. Justice Michael Kirby AC, CMG in recognition of his consistent and outstanding contribution over many years to the promotion, observance and understanding of human rights.

Sir Ronald Wilson described Justice Kirby as 'an extremely warm and caring person who has devoted the major part of his life, both on a professional and private level, to the promotion, recognition and observance of individual rights. His effective advocacy and his integrity have been responsible for influencing many people both here in Australia and on the international scene'. His tireless advocacy of human rights causes both in Australia and on the international scene'. His tireless advocacy of human rights causes both in Australia and overseas was also attested to in a personal tribute from former Prime Minister Mr Gough Whitlam.

Throughout the past decade, Justice Kirby has been a prolific speaker and writer on such issues as privacy, criminal procedure, equal opportunity, freedom of speech, indigenous rights and the domestic application of international human rights treaties. He is currently a Commissioner of the World Health Organisation Global Commission on AIDS, where he is promoting the rights of HIV/AIDS sufferers against discrimination and fighting oppressive and impractical measures such as compulsory screening, detention and segregation.

non - fiction award

Winner: Tell Me I'm Here - Anne Deveson

Anne Deveson's personal and deeply moving account of her son Jonathon's schizophrenia.

fiction award

Winner: Master of the Ghost Dreaming - Mudrooroo Nyoongah (Colin Johnson)

Set in the 19th century, this novel tells the story of a small Aboriginal tribe under the threat of white invasion.

poetry award

Winner: Komninos Komninos Zervos

A collection of poetry by Greek-Australian poet.

drama award

Winner: Bran Nue Dae - Jimmy Chi

Jimmy Chi and his band Knuckles wrote and composed this highly-acclaimed and very popular musical about a young Aborigine's journey to consciousness.

songwriting award

Winner: Treaty - Yothu Yindi

Written and performed by Yothu Yindi, an Aboriginal band from the Northern Territory.

feature film award

Winner: A Women's Tale - Paul Cox

The AFI award-winning film from Paul Cox, specially written for lead actress, Sheila Florence. Also starring Gosia Dobrowolska and Norman Kaye, the film celebrates the life of octogenarian Martha, now terminally ill.

documentary film award

Winner: Mr Neal is Entitled to be an Agitator - Darryl Dellora, Director

Darryl Dellora focuses on the late High Court Judge Lionel Murphy and his judgement in the Neal case. Murphy condemned the treatment of Neal, an Aborigine, who was dealt with more harshly by the law because of his political activity.

metropolitan newspapers award

Winner: Adele Horin - Sydney Morning Hearld

For her weekly column 'My Generation'.

regional newspapers award

Winner: Walter Secord - Australian Jewish News

For a collection of articles on human rights.

magazines award

Winner: Schizophrenia: A Fine Kind of Madness - Lyndall Crisp - The Bulletin

television documentary award

Winner: The Big Finish - Andrew Houghton, Producer and David Marr, Reporter - Four Corners, ABC TV

A profile of Sydney Symphony Orchestra Conductor Stuart Challender

radio documentary winners

Winner: Australia and East Timor: A Debt to Repay - Julie Browning, Writer/Producer - ABC Radio National

Australia's historical links with East Timor and the repercussions of the 1975 invasion.

tv drama award

Winner: Brides of Christ - Penny Chapman and Sue Masters, Executive Producers - ABC TV

Six hour drama series set in Australia during a period of radical upheaval in society and the Catholic Church. Produced by RCC and the ABC, in association with RTE (Ireland) and Channel 4 TV.

corporate award

Winner: Lotus Glen Correctional Centre, Mareeba Queensland

1991 saw the establishment of a Corporate Award to recognise the efforts of an organisation on promoting human rights.

The winner Lotus Glen is Australia's most modern correctional centre, and prides itself on its innovative and humane approach to the treatment of offenders as well as its commitment to equal opportunity practices for staff.