The presentation of the 1992 Human Rights Medal and Awards was held at the Powerhouse Museum on 22 November 1992. Over 300 people attended the ceremony. Sir Ronald Wilson, the Master of Ceremonies, introduced the Minister for Consumer Affairs Jeanette McHugh, who was representing the Attorney General. The Literature and Other Writing Awards were presented by Stepan Kerkyasharian, the TV and Radio Documentary and Current Affairs Awards by Jaslyn Hall. Dame Margaret Guilfoyle presented the Print and Corporate Awards, and John Morris the Songwriting and Film Awards.

human rights medal

Winner: Eddie Mabo (deceased) Rev Dave Passi, Sam Passi (deceased) James Rice, Celuia Mapo Salee (deceased) and Barbara Hocking

The winners of the Human Rights Medal were five Murray Islanders who mounted the historic Mabo case before the High Court.

The Murray Islanders were awarded the medal in recognition of their long and determined battle to gain justice for their people. Barbara Hocking was awarded the Medal in recognition of her contribution to the Mabo case and for her work over many years to gain legal recognition for indigenous people's rights.

non - fiction award

Winner: Katherine's Dairy - Katherine Cummings.

A painful and honest account of the life of a transsexual growing up in Australia.

children's fiction award

Winner: The Wolf - Margaret Barbalet and Jane Tanner

Picture story book about families and the fears that can threaten the young or the old.

poetry award

Winner: From the Republic of Conscience Kerry Flattley and Chris Wallace-Crabbe

International anthology dealing with human rights issues.

drama award

Winner: Highest Mountain, Fastest River - Salamanca Theatre Company and Donna Abela, Writer

A play for children about the escape of the Hmong Hill people from the Vietnamese invasion of Laos and their eventual settlement in Tasmania.

songwriting award

Winner: Do You Blame Yourself - Donna Reynolds

A song dealing with domestic violence against women.

feature film award

Winner: Day of the Dog - David Rapsey, Producer and James Ricketson, Writer/Director

Tells the story of a group of Nyoongars (aboriginal people from the Perth area) from inside their world. Starring John Moore and David Ngoombujaroo.

documentary film award

Winner: Maria - Barbara Chobocky, Director/ Writer/Producer

A widely acclaimed personal biography set in Australia and Czechoslovakia

metropolitan newspapers award

Winner: Margo Kingston - The Age

For a body of work which has consistently and effectively promoted human rights as a mainstream political issue.

magazines award

Winner: Lust for Life - Mark Mordue - Rolling Stone

An article portraying the lives of people living with discrimination and ignorance surrounding AIDS.

television documentary award

Winner: Cop it Sweet - Jenny Brockie, Producer Director - ABC TV

Controversial documentary about police in Redfern in Sydney's inner city

radio documentary awards - joint winners

Winner: Tribute to Louise Johnson - Janelle Green & Adrian Shaw, West Australian Aboriginal Media Association

The story of the death of 19 year old aboriginal youth Louis Johnson in January 1992.

Winner: Exactly Howard - Background Briefing, ABC Radio National - Elizabeth Jackson, Producer

Examines the politics behind the controversial new juvenile justice laws in Western Australia

tv drama award

Winner: GP - ABC TV - Bruce Best, Producer

For the consistent and valuable contribution made by this series to human rights issues.

corporate award

Winner: LINK Disability Journal - South Australian Branch of Disabled People's International (DPI)

The 1992 Corporate Award was given to a community organisation's journal which provides a unique service to Australians with disabilities.

The LINK Disability Journal is published by the South Australian Branch of Disabled Peoples' International (DPI). Established in 1980, the Journal provides local news and information on resources and the latest technology for people with disabilities.