The 1994 Human Rights Awards presentation ceremony was attended by approximately 500 people at the ABC Centre in Sydney. The Attorney-General, the Hon Michael Lavarch, presented the 1994 Human Rights Medal to Dr Roberta Sykes. In addition to the Human Rights Medal, there were 15 awards covering four categories: Media, Literature and Other Writings, Film and Corporate.

The Commission acknowledges the support of QANTAS and the ABC, who provided sponsorship support for this event.

human rights medal

Winner: Dr Roberta B Sykes

songwriting award

Winner: Passage - Jon-Clair Lee - Director/Writer and Jeamin Lee - Composer/Musician

fiction award

Winner: Safe Houses - Rose Zwi

non - fiction award

Winner: Creating a Nation - Patricia Grimshaw, Marilyn Lake, Marian Quartly and Ann McGrath

children's literature award

Winner: The Collectors - Robert Carter

tv drama award

Winner: Heartland - ABC TV Drama - Penny Chapman and Bruce West, Executive Producers

radio documentary/current affairs award

Winner: Deafness as Culture - Late Night Live, ABC Radio National - Gary Bryson, Executive Producer and Peter McEvoy, Producer

tv news/current affairs award

Winner: In Detention - 7.30 Report, ABC TV - Michael Cordell, Reporter/Producer

major metropolitan newspapers award

Winner: The Killing Time - The Age - Rosemary West

regional newspapers award

Winner: Dying in the Dust - Northern Star Lismore, Peter Ellem

magazines award

Winner: May Day Magazines - Mark Crossin, Publisher

corporate award

Winner: Employment Equity Program - Sydney Electricity

poetry award

Winner: Collected Poems Judith Wright

drama award

Winner: Dead Heart - Nicholas Parsons, Playwright

feature film award

Winner: Only the Brave - Fiona Eagger, Producer and Ana Kokkinos, Director

documentary film/television award

Winner: Exile and the Kingdom - Frank Rijavec, Producer Director