Human Rights Awards 2014


Human Rights Medal

Dorothy Hoddinott AO
Dorothy Hoddinott AO is the principal of Holroyd High School in Greystanes. She has demonstrated a 20-year commitment to advancing the education rights of young people and refugees. In 2002, Ms Hoddinott established the Friends of Zainab trust fund to allow a young asylum seeker to complete their high school education. This initiative has supported over 100 students. Mrs Hoddinott has focussed attention on the importance of teaching English as a second language (ESL) and how this enhances learning environments for all students and improves social cohesion. She was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2008 for her career-long contribution to social justice issues and she received the College Medal from the Australian College of Educators in 2012 for service to school education, particularly to disadvantaged students.


Young People’s Human Rights Medal (sponsored by King & Wood Mallesons)

Daniel Haile-Michael and Maki Issa
For challenging racism and racial profiling as the lead applicants in a historic Federal Court case involving the Victorian police force.


Law Award (sponsored by Law Council of Australia)

Darren Fittler
Darren Fittler is a laywer at Gilbert + Tobin, where he leads the Third Sector Advisory Group, providing legal assistance to the charity, philanthropic and not-for-profit sectors. Mr Fittler is a member of the Disability Advisory Council for the NSW Department of Justice and board members of Media Access Australia, the nation’s only not-for-profit media access organisation focused on improving media engagement for people with disabilities. He is also a member of the Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission Professional Users Group. Mr Fittler was chosen to be part of the non-government delegation to the United Nations Ad Hoc Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disability


Business Award (sponsored by Audrey Page & Associates)

Joint Winner - KPMG & Grace Papers
KPMG: For its Reconciliation Action Plan, which fosters equal access to employment opportunities for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people and provides support for Indigenous business, leadership and human rights.
Grace Papers: For its work empowering women to address pregnancy discrimination in the workplace.


Tony Fitzgerald Memorial Community Award – Individual

Damian Griffis
CEO of the First Peoples Disability Network (Australia) and a leading advocate for the human rights of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people with disability.


Community Award – Organisation

Transgender Victoria
For its dedication to achieving justice, equity and quality health and community services for transgender people, their partners, families and friends.


Literature Award 

Jane Newling, Missing Christopher, (Allen & Unwin)


Print and Online Media Award (sponsored by Telstra)

Nick Olle, Sam Wallman, Pat Grant, Pat Armstrong, Sam Bungey, Mark Finger, Lauren Martin, The Global Mail
At Work Inside Our Detention Centres: A Guard’s Story. A rare insight into the internal processes of outsourced detention centres.


Radio Award

Carol Dowling, Another Stolen Generation, Noongar Radio
This feature highlights the disproportionate placement of Aboriginal children in out-of-home care in Western Australia.


Television Award (sponsored by Al Jazeera)

Geoff Thompson, Karen Michelmore, Anne Worthington, Patricia Drum and Connie Agius
The Manus Solution, Four Corners, ABC TV. This program relies on witness testimony to investigate the February 2013 death of Manus Island detainee, Reza Berati and to illuminate the so-called “Manus Solution”. The program’s revelations were subsequently corroborated by a Government-commissioned inquiry.