‘Great Australians’ to be recognised in 2017 Human Rights Awards

Friday 8 December 2017

From an outstanding field of nominees, eight great Australians today will receive a prestigious 2017 Human Rights Award at a ceremony at the Westin Hotel Sydney, starting at noon.

Presented by the Australian Human Rights Commission to mark International Human Rights Day on 10 December, the awards acknowledge and celebrate the achievements of Australians from all walks of life. Award categories include law, media, young people, community and business.

Previous winners of the Human Rights Medal include Pat Anderson, Peter Greste, Ian Thorpe, Eddie Mabo, the Rt Hon. Malcom Fraser, Ron Merkel QC, Sister Clare Condon, Dorothy Hoddinott and Elizabeth Evatt.

“I am humbled by the resilience, the commitment and the goodwill demonstrated by every one of this year’s award nominees,” said Commission President, Professor Rosalind Croucher.

“The shortlist for the Young People’s Human Rights Medal is especially inspiring.

“Here are five young Australians who have made an outstanding contribution to advancing human rights in Australia. Their focus on multiculturalism, transgender rights, gender equality, and the rights of refugees gives me great hope that Australians from all walks of life will continue to work towards equality and freedom for all citizens.”

Professor Croucher said some of the nominees for the 2017 Human Rights Medal are household names; others are quiet achievers.

There are seven nominees (pictured) for this year’s Human Rights Medal: artist Ben Quilty, ‘Carly’s Law’ campaigner Sonya Ryan, and NRL star and emerging Indigenous leader Johnathan Thurston. Also shortlisted are surgeon Dr John Malouf, gun control advocate Walter Mikac, and Anthony and Chrissie Foster, whose advocacy helped bring about the Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse.

More information: https://hrawards.humanrights.gov.au