Warning message

The subscription service is currently unavailable. Please try again later.


  • Rosemary Kayess, winner of 2019 Human Rights Medal. Photo by Matthew Syres
  • Rosalind Croucher photo by Matthew Syres


The Human Rights Awards is the pinnacle of human rights recognition in Australia. Each year we are proud to recognise the outstanding contribution of individuals and organisations in promoting and protecting human rights and freedoms.

Previous winners of the Human Rights Medal include Chrissie Foster, the Hon Justice McClellan, Johnathan Thurston, Pat Anderson, Peter Greste, Ian Thorpe, the Rt Hon. Malcom Fraser, Dorothy Hoddinott and Elizabeth Evatt.

Nominations for the 2019 Human Rights Awards opened on Monday 6 May and closed on Monday 29 July 2019.

The Human Rights Awards ceremony will be on Friday 13 December 2019.


Rosemary Kayess winner of the 2019 Human Rights Medal

Rosemary Kayess has won the prestigious 2019 Human...Read more

2019 Medal Finalists

Tickets for this year’s Human Rights awards close...Read more

A photo of Brooke Boney

Tickets for the 2019 Human Rights Awards, the...Read more

2018 finalists, Ballarat City Council with Rosalind Croucher

The wait is over! We are thrilled to...Read more

Contact us

If you have any queries you can also contact the Human Rights Awards team.

Phone: 02 9284 9600
Email: hrawards@humanrights.gov.au