• sexual abuse of a child is intolerable - Justice Peter McClellan, 2018 Medal winner
  • "inclusion is vital in education - the window to every child's future' - Catia Malaquias 2018 Winner
  • 2018 winner quote "everyone deserves to marry the one they love" - Australian Marriage Equality
  • Winner quote "It was an event of firsts, making history with new and inclusive benchmarks" - Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games
  • Nyadol Nyuon - Winner of the 2018 Racism. It Stops With Me Award
  • Acknowledging Human Rights issues in supply chains prevents further harm" - Nicole D'Souza


The Human Rights Awards is the pinnacle of human rights recognition in Australia. Each year we are proud to recognise the outstanding contribution of individuals and organisations in promoting and protecting human rights and freedoms.

Previous winners of the Human Rights Medal include Chrissie Foster, the Hon Justice McClellan, Johnathan Thurston, Pat Anderson, Peter Greste, Ian Thorpe, the Rt Hon. Malcom Fraser, Dorothy Hoddinott and Elizabeth Evatt.

Nominations for the 2019 Human Rights Awards open on Monday 6 May and close on Monday 15 July 2019.

The Human Rights Awards ceremony will be on Friday 13 December 2019. More details to be provided later in the year.


President of the Australian Human Rights Commission, Emeritus Professor Rosalind Croucher AM

There are only three weeks left to nominate...Read more

Chrissie Foster and the Honourable Justice Peter McClellan AM receive the Human Rights Medal in 2018.
Justice Peter McClellan AM and Chrissie Foster

The Honourable Justice Peter McClellan AM and Chrissie...Read more

Sydney Gay & Lesbian choir with rainbow flags and umbrellas

By Siobhan Ryan

Don’t miss your opportunity to hear...Read more

Contact us

If you have any queries you can also contact the Human Rights Awards team.

Phone: 02 9284 9600